Should comic characters have their names translated to other languages?

 
 
This is a weird thought to entertain, but believe it or not, I do give it a thought.
 
Let’s put this into the proper perspective with a simple example:
 
Should Mickey Mouse keep his name (as is) everywhere around the world, or should the name be translated to things like "El Ratón Miguelito"?
 
Please, don’t take me wrong on this, I love and respect my native language, which happens to be spanish (check this out: I use the letter ñ very profusely in this blog of mine, so that is a good and simple sign of my respect to my language).
 
In my humble opinion, I think that Mickey (as well as all other comic strip characters) should keep the name as is, but with some logical localization rules to handle particular exceptions.
 
What happens when the original name, when pronounced in some other language, sounds very much like a profanity, or close to an offensive word, or an expletive?
 
What happens if the original name, when pronounced in some other language, conveys a confusing image, like, say the character is  male, but the name clearly sounds more like a female name?
 
For me, I can’t picture in my mind Mafalda, or TinTin, or Asterix, with any other name but the original name.
 
As I see it, this is clearly an open-ended topic, but as a closing statement, allow me to bring forward this (counter?) example:
 
In Italy, Batman is called L’Uomo Pipistrello, which happens to be a clear-cut translation for The Bat-Man.
 
 
 
 
Se deberían traducir a otros idiomas los nombres de los personajes de tiras cómicas?
 
 
Este es un extraño pensamiento en que entretenerse, pero crease o no, yo lo pienso.
 
Pongamos esta idea en su correcta perspectiva, a través de un sencillo ejemplo:
 
Debería Mickey Mouse conservar su nombre (tal cual es) en cualquier parte del mundo, o acaso su nombre debería ser traducido a cosas tales como "El Ratón Miguelito"?
 
Por favor, no me malinterpreten, yo amo y respeto mi idioma nativo, que resulta ser el español (verifiquen esto: yo hago un profuso uso de la letra ñ en este blog mio, lo cual es una clara "señal" de mi respeto por mi idioma).
 
En mi humilde opinión, creo que Mickey (al igual que todos los demás personajes de tiras cómicas) deberían conservar su nombre tal y como es, pero con algunas lógicas reglas de "localización" para manejar excepciones particulares.
 
Qué pasa cuando el nombre original, al ser pronunciado en otro idioma, suena muy parecido a una profanidad, o a una palabra ofensiva, o a un insulto?
 
Qué pasa si el nombre original, al ser pronunciado en otro idioma, invoca una imagen confusa, como por ejemplo, que el personaje es masculino, pero el nombre claramente suena demasiado parecido a un nombre femenino?
 
Para mi, no puedo imaginarme a Mafalda, o TinTin, o Asterix, con ningún otro nombre que no sea el original.
 
Tal como yo lo veo, este es claramente un tópico con final abierto, pero a modo de cierre, permítaseme proponer este (contra?) ejemplo:
 
En Italia, a Batman se lo llama L’Uomo Pipistrello, que resulta ser una traducción directa de The Bat-Man.
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

